Friday, March 12, 2010


So after all the controversies, worries, tantrums and myriad other issues that occupied the media bytes, Indian Premier League 2010 is set to commence this evening.

The non-bidding of Pakistani cricketers at the auction in January, the security issues, the threats of foreign players pulling out, the boycott by the News Broadcaters' Association, threats of Deccan Chargers pulling out, warnings by political parties to Australian players - all of this is now the past. As the defending champions Deccan Chargers meet the last year's wooden spoon holders Kolkata Knight Riders at their 'home' match in Navi Mumbai, all attention will centre on the cricket aspect of this multi-million dollar tournament.

There will obviously be glamour, glitz, razzmatazz and traces of Bollywood, but finally, after a year, IPL will have news relating to cricket! The captains: Sourav Ganguly, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Warne, Sachin Tendulkar, Anil Kumble, Kumar Sangakkara, Gautam Gambhir and Mahendra Singh Dhoni will all be keen to hold the glittering trophy in their hands on April 25 at the same D.Y. Patil Stadium where the action kickstarts today.

Out of these 8 captains, the first 5 might be playing their last IPL along with the likes of Rahul Dravid and VVS Laxman. That is the biggest reason compelling me to follow this IPL, because the heroes of my childhood days do not have much left in the tank for the shortest version of the game.

Though the teams will not be at their full strength due to the absence of players on international duty, it will still be a worthwhile contest. And once these players are back, it will be a mouthwatering contest. After two years, all the franchisees (except Deccan Chargers) will be looking forward to genuine 'home' support across 12 venues.

Let the festivities begin...

No comments: